

# Deep River and Area Minor Hockey Association

# 2023 Oct 26 Meeting Minutes

### Deep River Arena Mezzanine @ 7pm

#### **ATTENDEES**

Stephen Bird, Jacqui Bird, Jamie Carr, Amanda D'Ornellas, Rob Desjardins, Jess Kellow, Lauren Kinghorn, Joseph Nolan, Alex Roblin, Jan Sunstrum, Shannon Vanderbergh, Stephanie Walsh

#### **ABSENT**

Gabrielle Gracey, Martin Smith, Alex Dubois

#### **AGENDA**

- President (Stephen Bird)
  - Getting a list of timekeepers for each team
  - Need to schedule a Coach/Managers meeting
  - New lock for Coaches Corner, combination has been supplied to executives, managers and timekeepers
  - Designations to sponsor another House League team this year
  - Hockey Canada is back to honoring Memorials of volunteers to hockey leaders in each Association's communities
    - This program had been put on hold during Covid
    - We will need to decide on nominations and provide back to Hockey Canada
  - Thank you has been Website to sponsor
- Director of House (Joseph Nolan)
  - Suggested sponsorship goes to U13 House team

- Will send Managers info
- Ice Allocator (Lauren Kinghorn)
  - Not a lot of ice times have been returned at this time
  - Two options for Photo Night (one is on ice)
    - Kim is available for Nov 11/12
      - Lauren to organize photo day
- Website Administrator (Alex Dubois)
  - o N/A
- Equipment Manager (Rob Desjardins)
  - Goalie equipment ordered
  - Starting the process to replace jerseys
    - Is approaching current sponsors and then will reach out to new potential sponsors, hoping for 8-10 sponsors total.
      - Also exploring jersey providers/suppliers
- U9 Coordinator (Alex Roblin)
  - Run time like last year, paid timekeepers aren't necessary
- U7 Coordinator (Stephanie Walsh)
  - Email to go out to rep teams to run kitchen during the FunDay
- Sponsorship/Fundraising (Jess Kellow)
  - Received 2 quotes for shopping bags, both seem high
  - Look at using sponsor gift basket for equipment room and on-ice equipment/training tools
    - President to talk to the Town of Deep River regarding equipment room
    - President to talk to supplier regarding on-ice training tools
- Treasurer (Jan Sunstrum)
  - Financial Report has been emailed to the Executive Staff
  - Timekeepers President to advise to Jan on payments / will track
    - Will be paid in the same manner as Referees
  - Would like to explore other banking options
    - Customer service at current bank is not ideal
- Tournament Convenor/Trophy Coordinator (Shannon Vandenberghe)

- Medals are ordered
- Tournament registrations are coming in at a good pace
- Vice President (Jamie Carr)
  - Complaint received from one parent and should be resolved next week
  - Social media policy to be sent out to U13 teams and up
  - Some police checks are still outstanding

## Registrar (Amanda D Ornellas)

- HEO sticking with current dressing room policy
- o Electronic travel permit are up and available on the DRAMHA website
- HEO will offer one year grace period for timekeeper training. If you are 14 you must have the course, above 16 you do not (for this year).
- 2 new registrants/players
- o Rosters due this weekend, some Coach/Trainer certfications are tardy.
  - Some tournaments won't allow coaches on the bench if they do not currently have their certifications
  - Make sure volunteers are using the correct links for certifications/training
- Director of Competitive Hockey (Martin Smith)
  - o N/A
- Secretary (Jacqui Bird)
  - Presented Minutes from last Executive Meeting
    - Motion approved to publish minutes on DRAMHA website (see below)

# MOTION(S)

- 1. Motion to approve financial report
  - a. Proposed by Amanda D'Ornellas
  - b. Seconded by Rob Desjardins
  - c. All in favour of motion: Stephen Bird, Jacqui Bird, Amanda D'Ornellas, Jess Kellow, Lauren Kinghorn, Joseph Nolan, Alex Roblin, Shannon Vanderbergh, Jamie Carr, Stephanie Walsh
  - d. MOTION APPROVED
- 2. Motion to Approve Minutes from October 5, 2023 Meeting

- a. Proposed by Joseph Nolan
- b. Seconded by Rob Desjardins
- c. All for: Stephen Bird, Jamie Carr, Amanda D'Ornellas, Jamie Carr, Jess Kellow, Lauren Kinghorn, Joseph Nolan, Alex Roblin, Shannon Vanderbergh, Stephanie Walsh.
  d. MOTION APPROVED